Thursday, May 12, 2016

Bout of Books: If You Like This, Try This

Today's challenge  is "If you like this, try this." The idea is to recommend a book based on something. ex: if you like Victorian romance, you should read Pride and Prejudice.

I have actually done this a few times on my blog, making bookmark-like images recommending books you may like if you like certain popular titles.
(Here, here, and here)

So I thought I'd take a different spin on it this time. I chose some musical albums and recommended books based on the themes and mood of the albums!

If you like listening to this, read this: 



Beyonce  - Lemonade / Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozie Adiche

about the experience of being a black woman in America, written by a black woman in America.



Taylor Swift - Fearless / Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

about high school, first loves, best friends, family, relationships, and being a teenage girl.



The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds / The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

set in California; very reflective; poetic; exploring love, life, grief, family, figuring things out, losing somebody, finding yourself.



Lorde -  Pure Heroine / Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger

angsty; introspective; referencing literature; about the experience of being a teenager, being bored, doing nothing, feeling nothing, feeling everything, and growing up.



Nick Drake - Pink Moon / The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

just beautiful explorations of how it feels to be a person. so lovely.



The Beatles - Abbey Road / Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

whimsical; emotional; catchy; lots of imagery; surprisingly deep.



Beach House - Teen Dream / Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

pensive; emotional; beautiful; thinking about yourself and what you want out of life and if it's enough.



David Bowie -  Blackstar / This is Water by David Foster Wallace

beautiful reflection on life, death, how to live a good life and leave something behind when you go; written by a man who died tragically and too young.



Progress Update: I finished Rat Queens Volume 3: Demons. It was pretty good but now I want to read the next one which isn't out yet. I think I will read the Oprah book next.

No comments:

Post a Comment